IBM COBOL Training?

Can somebody give me the link to the free IBM training that’s referred to in this article?

I’m getting a 404 when I try and go to the course on GitHub.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @timothyherger6. I tried to open the site and got the same 404 error. I have a feeling they haven’t launched it yet. One article says that it won’t start until next week. But let me know if you hear anything from the forum. Thanks.

Hi everyone!

We will make an announcement when the code is on GitHub later in the week - sorry for the delay!

4 Likes

Thanks for the update @jmertic. Will the announcement be here in the forum or will you have a site that we should check (or both :slight_smile: )?

Two more questions:

1. Where might we find free IDEs for download to practice COBOL programming
  2. Do we need to know JCL before embarking on COBOL training, or will it be incorporated in the training?

I am no expert, just curious, but I found this it’s an open cobol ide written in python: https://pypi.org/project/OpenCobolIDE/

Also this it’s a node js bridge to run cobol code: https://github.com/IonicaBizau/node-cobol

And this repo with some basic examples to test out : https://github.com/IoannisNoutsis/COBOL-Training?files=1
Hope it helps.

1 Like

Guys
Please understand the basics.
Its one thing to start coding in COBOL and contribute in application programming. its yet another thing to know how to handle cobol codes on the mainframe. Unlike other platforms on the mainframe one needs to learn the basics of MVS OPERATING SYSTEM and TSO editor, to start maneuvering from one panel to another on ISPF. You also need to learn JCL, JOB control language in order to submit the cobol codes to the OS for compilation, linking and running the load module. A knowledge of database like DB2 or IMS is a must in order to complete the cobol programming on the main frame.