Mainframe developer resources/communities recommendations

Hello all,

My name is Dylan Lee, and I am a Ph.D. student at the University of Tennessee.

I am working on a research project focused on building a greater understanding of how mainframe developers troubleshoot and seek help when developing in COBOL.

In an attempt to complete an exhaustive web search and ensure we are fully covering all of the COBOL-based forums and community hubs, we thought who better to ask than the forum users themselves. With all that said…

What are the different sites/forums/chat-rooms that you use to ask questions and find answers when developing COBOL?

What are some existing resources for learning/troubleshooting and discussing COBOL?

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

1 Like

Hello Dylan.

My name is Paul G McKenzie.

I have many years experience using Cobol.

Here is a link to my website, we could talk if you think I can help.

https://tutoringinthecloud.com/

Here is a link to my linkedin profile.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/paul-g-mckenzie/

Hi Dylan,
My name is Uday Prasad, I am a mainframe trainer and teach application programming on IBM MAINFRAME using CObol, CICS,JCL and DB2.
I have more than 30 years of work experience on this platform ,.
Looking at your query I am keen on helping/working with you to get your research take a direction,
Please contact me on
prasad,uday60@gmail.com
My whats app number in +919850840388
I stay in India and am plus five and half hours ahead of GMT. (IST
You can reach me on any day any time.

Regards
Uday

Dear Lee
I am Uday again. Can you please also tell us on how to get into a PHD research on topics pertaining to IBM MAINFRAME and cobol. What could be other topics on which we can pick up the research work on this platform? Where to find which universities would be encourage further research on this subject. what should be way ahead?

Regards
Uday

Hello Paul,