Efficient Data Processing

Hello. I am trying to modify an existing COBOL program that reads in data (all 100K+records) then moves that data into a sort file for processing. I would like to only process (sort) those records that meet a certain criterion. My understanding is this will make my program execute faster therefore making it more efficient. Currently the program reads all records then eliminates those records which meet the criteria. I am new to COBOL programming and am not sure what information to include to get helpful feedback.

100k records not that much for COBOL program running on ZOS. There not much you can do, and generally not worth the effort. How long this program takes to run to run?

Approximately 30 seconds.

WTH, changing a batch program that runs 30 seconds is not worth your time. Reading record sequentially to selecting them for sort is what you would do in 90% of COBOL programs.

Thank you. I am new to “professional” programming. I guess with time I can get beyond just successful and include concise, efficient, and future friendly.

Efficiency and elegance, in a program, are beautiful to see; and they are very satisfying to create.

Not everyone understands what it is like, to smile with satisfaction, at the print-out of one’s own COBOL program, and think, to oneself, “I am a young, handsome knight from the Age of Chivalry, leaning back, against the base of a tree, some warm, midsummer day, playing my flute or my mandolin! And this gigantic, clunky mainframe that I am working on, is, in truth, a fair, lissome maiden, dressed in white, with flowers in her hair, dancing, barefoot, before me, to the rhythm of the music --the programs that I write-- that I play, on my instrument [my work-station]. And she is beautiful. And the music is good. And her dancing, to that music, gives it life! Truly, it is a delight to be here, with her; and a joy, to be alive, writing programs to earn my living!”